Bukit Melawati (Melawati Hill)
Bukit Melawati (Melawati Hill) at Kuala Selangor was the administrative center and stronghold of the Selangor Sultanate in the late 18th and early 19th century. A heavily fortified fort once stood on the summit. It was built during the reign of Sultan Ibrahim from 1782 to 1826 to fight against the Dutch. Selangor had been sucked into the struggle between the Dutct amd the ruler of Johor and Riau.
The fort fell to the Dutch in 1784, renamed it "Altingsburd Fort" after they did not hold it for long. Sultar Dutch governor-general. Butn Ibrahim recaptured the fort in January 1785 in a daring night attack with the aid of warrior from Pahang and mercenaries from Permatang. The victory was significant. It was the first time that a local Sulatn had been able to retake his fort from a foreign power.
In Bukit Melawati are found relics of the past, including the protective walls of the fort, the palace ground, a lighthouse, royal graves, seven walls, a flat stone used for beheading offenders, a 100-step ladder, a poisonous well and several cannons pointed at the moth of the Selangor River (Sungai Selangor). Bukit Melawati was designated a historical monument and historical site under Antiquities Act 1976 in 1977.
Contact Information Of Bukit Melawati
Majlis Daerah Kuala Selangor
Jalan Semarak, 45000 Kuala Selangor. Tel: 03-3289 1439
Tourist Train Operation Hours
Day: Saturday, Sunday & Public Holiday
Ticket: Adult RM 5 Children RM3 (Ticket is for Bukit Melawati & Freshwater Fish Park)
Tourist Train Service is closed on weekday. However, visitors can drive their own car (transport) to visit Bukit Melawati.